意大利紅酒。Amarone della Valpolicella DOCG

~ Amarone della Valpolicella DOCG ~

amarone

意大利文Amaro是「苦」的意思,出產自意大利北部Veneto(威尼托大區),其產區位於Lago di Garda(加達湖)的東面山坡地區Valpolicella,屬於素有「愛情之都」Verona (維羅納)之稱的歷史名城省份,也許正因為Verona作為英國大文豪莎士比亞著名愛情悲劇《羅密歐與茱麗葉》(Romeo e Giulietta)發生的舞台,所以這裡出產的紅酒,以「最苦」為名,成就出Amarone。

不過,Amarone其實並不太「苦」,反而是帶甜的,這是因為Amarone是以風乾了的葡萄來釀製,當中法定要求至少用45-90%的Corvina Veronese作主要紅葡萄,這正是原產於Verona當地的葡萄,全世界90%產量都是在Veneto大區內種植,同時會混合另外兩款當地原產的Corvinone及Rondinella來增加風味及平均口感。

Corvina Veronese葡萄果實會於9月最後兩個星期才以人手採摘,採集後會整棵平鋪在傳統木盤Fruttaio上作自然的風乾4-5個月,待果實皮出現理想的網狀紋路: 代表果實跟表皮有緊密接觸,果內的酸得到代謝,單寧及糖份集中,日後釀出的葡萄酒就會更加平衡。當葡萄(亦包括Corvinone及Rondinella)風乾好了,就會利用粘附在果皮上面的天然酵母,在冬季最後的月份進行低溫發酵,並於大橡木桶內存放至少30-36個月成熟。

由於在釀製過程中有很多天然過程及人手工序,所以並不容易控制質量,然而這款在1990年成為DOC (產區認證),更在2009年進一步成為DOCG (在Valpolicella產區中少數能得到DOCG級別的酒),有著政府監控質量,是品質保證的重要指標及認可。

 

Grapes (葡萄):
– 65% Corvina, 15% Corvinone + 10% Rondinella + 10% other varieties

Environment (環境):
– Altitude (生長海拔) : 450米
– Soil (土壤) : 頁岩粘土, 由石灰石岩層改變而成, 不存在火成岩(玄武岩)。
– Vine (葡萄種植方式) :新種植外也混合20-35年老樹
– Vines per hectare (每公頃種植): 5200棵
– Production (產量): 60 – 70 百升/公頃
– Harvest (收成方式): 於9月最後兩個星期以人手採摘, 並存放於傳統木盤“Fruttaio”上自然風乾。

Vintage (陳釀) :
– 葡萄果實在通風良好的房間輕輕地擦乾約4-5個月, 從而使口味, 甜度及顏色更為集中, 到了冬季將會進行壓碎, 並利用天然酵母發酵。
– Maturing (於酒桶成熟) : 在500-1000公升大的橡木桶陳釀30-36個月再入瓶。

Alcohol (酒精度): 15%

Tasting Note (品味摘要):
– Colour (顏色) : 深寶石紅色
– Perfume (氣味) : 紅色成熟的水果味, 小果林的香氣
– Palate (口感) : 豐富, 精緻, 優雅

Suggested Retail Price (建議零售價錢):
HKD 680/瓶

有關訂購, 送貨服務及條款, 請閱此

Amarone della Valpolicella DOCG

amarone~ Amarone della Valpolicella DOCG ~

‘Amaro’ means for ‘bitter’ in Italian.  It originates from production area on eastern slope of lake Lago di Garda (Lake Garda) calls Valpolicella,  where located in the famous historic province always regarded as ‘Verona’ – metropolitan of love, that belongs to big zone of Veneto in northern Italy. Perhaps because Verona being belongs to acting platform of famous tragedy love story ‘Romeo e Giulietta’ (Romeo and Juliet) that written by great writer Shakespeare, therefore, the wine that produced there also named with its “most bitter” that makes the success of Amarone.

But this wine, which got DOC in 1990 & finally becomes DOCG in 2009, is actually not ‘bitter’ but is sweet instead, because Amarone is made with air-dried grapes, of which within 45-90% officially required to use with Corvina Veronese as main portion of grapes, where as exactly the grapes originated from Verona, for the whole world almost 90% production is grown from Veneto big zone, and at the same time mixed with grapes from two other origins, Corvinone & Rondinella to increase its distinctive flavor as well as taste balance.

The fruits of Corvina Veronese will only be plucked by hands in the last two weeks of September. After plucking, will then placed flat in traditional wooden tray (Fruttaio) and let it naturally dried by air 4 – 5 months, to wait for the fruit skins appear with perfect netted veins, that represented the fruits & skins are with close contact, and the oleanolic inside undergoes metabolism to concentrate the tannin, the wine will become more balance on taste.  After air-drying the grapes (include Corvinone & Rondinella), will then make use the natural yeast that adhesive to the fruit skins to undergo the low temperature fermentation process at the end of the winder season, and store in large oaken barrel for at least 30-36 months till matured.

Because throughout the making process there involves many natural process and manpower working procedures, which the quality is not easy to control, However this wine had achieved DOC (origin approval) in 1990, furthermore, got the DOCG (just a few wine can get this DOCG ranking in Valpolicella production zone), having the quality monitored by Government, is an important index & approval for quality assurance.

Grapes :
– 65% Corvina, 15% Corvinone + 10% Rondinella + 10% other varieties

Environment :
– Altitude : 450m
– Soil : Shaley Clay, produced by the alteration of limestone formations and in particular the white and red scales. The volcano (basalt) is non-existent.
– Vine: New plantings and old one of 20-35 years
– Vines per hectare: 5200
– Production: 60 – 70 Hl/Ha
– Harvest: Hand picked during the last two weeks of September and lay to dry in small wooden trays “Fruttaio”.

Vintage  :
– The grapes are allowed to dry gently in well-ventilated rooms for around 4-5 months, concentrating their flavours, sweetness and colour. In winter, the grapes are crushed, fermentation starts with natural yeast
– Maturing  : 30-36 months in 500-1000 lt oak barrels before bottling.

Alcohol: 15%

Serving Temperature : 18°C

Tasting Note :
– Colour : Intense ruby red colour
– Perfume : Red ripe fruit, small woodland fruits
– Palate : Rich, refined, elegant

Accompaniments :
Ideal with Tuscan soups and pasta dishes, white and red meats.
Recommended as an accompaniment to semi-ripe cheeses.

Suggested Retail Price:
HKD 680/BT

To Purchase, delivery and terms, please check HERE.