有關意大利葡萄酒

vigna-belvedere1~ 認識意大利葡萄酒 ~

1) 葡萄酒的原材料:
在意大利當地主要種植的葡萄有:
紅葡萄: Barbera (巴比拿)、Nebbiolo (列比奧奴)、Sangiovese (聖祖維些)
白葡萄: Moscato (莫列卡圖)、Pinot Grigio (比諾。芝治奧)、Trebbiano (堤比安奴)

另外還有非法定葡萄: Chardonnay(白)及Merlot(紅), 也經常在意大利葡萄酒的釀製上使用到。 不同品種的葡萄故然有著不同的味道及特性 (包括酸度, 果香及單寧等), 但即使是相同品種的葡萄, 在不同的天氣及土壤之下, 都會成長出富有獨特個性的個體。 再加上釀酒師的技術, 在不同的酒莊的演繹下, 使得同一個品種的葡萄酒都可以演化出不同的風格及味道! 這就是意大利葡萄酒的吸引之處!! .

2) 認識意大利釀酒區: 意大利分有20個「大區」(regione), 其下再分為百多個「省」(province), 基本每個大區都有出產屬於當地的葡萄酒, 在當中以西北部Piemonte大區及中部Toscana大區, 這兩個地方所釀製出來的葡萄酒最為世人所熟悉。

Piemonte (皮亞蒙特大區):
Barolo (巴洛羅)及Barbaresco (巴巴尼斯高)這兩個產區享負盛名, 前者在一些酒評人口中更成為「意大利酒王」(但其實會被稱為「國王」是因為19世紀時, 此酒是供應給Piemonte的貴族飲用, 他們在日後(1861年)成為了「意大利王國」的國王), 後者則有「酒后」的美譽, 雖然品嚐葡萄酒是件很個人口味的事情, 不過由此得知在這兩個地區出產的葡萄酒, 的確是得到很多人的推崇。

Toscana (托斯卡納大區):
最知名的產區位於Chainti, Montalcino及Montepulciano這3個地區, 這一區域都是Toscana中心典型的山丘陵地帶, 加之陽光普照又雨份充足, 十分適合葡萄的生長, 出產優質的葡萄酒數量是全意大利最多。

其他大區的葡萄酒有機會再跟大家分享, 只可以總括一句:「意大利的葡萄酒各有特色, 並各自精彩!!」 .

3) 意大利葡萄酒的分級:
Indicazione Geografica Tipica (IGT):
生產於特定產區但未符合法定規格的葡萄酒, 釀酒師可不按法規限定而釀酒, 當中亦有非常優秀之作。

Denominazione di Origine Controllata (DOC):
生產於特定的產區, 符合法定釀造規格釀製的葡萄酒, 皆會使用DOC認證。

Denominazione di Origine Controllata e Garantita (DOCG):
意大利酒的最高級別, 跟DOC同樣在特定產區生產並符合法定釀造成份, 主要分別於「保證」(Garantita), 並由政府嚴格監控質量及數量。

 *** 值得留意的是, 以上分級並不代表葡萄酒的「質量」, 這是意大利政府及酒莊按照最傳統的釀酒方法去陳釀的基本地理條件及歷史限制, 某些釀酒師會發揮自己的創意及意念去釀出一流的美酒, 但由於不能滿足DOCG的嚴格條件而大多成為了IGT級別, 這也是有名的”SUPER TUSCNAS” (超級托斯卡納紅酒)的源來。

 

Vino Conte酒伯爵亦為大家精選了幾款來自Montecchio的”SUPER TUSCANS”紅酒:
Priscus IGT
– Viola Scuro IGT
– Pietracupa IGT Rosso Toscana
– La Papessa IGT Rosso Toscana

About Italian Wines

~ About Italian wines ~

vigna-belvedere1
– The raw material of wine: GRAPES –
The main kind of grapes that plant in Italy:
Red grapes
Barbera
Nebbiolo
Sangiovese

White grapes
Moscato
Pinot Grigio
Trebbiano

Furthermore there are also non-official grapes: Chardonnay(white) & Merlot(red), which are once used in the making of Italian grapes wines. Of course for different types of grapes obviously there will be different tastes and characteristics, but even though for same type of grapes, because of different climate & soils, will grow out individually with different specific characteristics. Add up with different technology of wine maker & casting by different wineries, will make the same type of grapes wine carry with different style & taste that undergoes with evolution.

– Italian winery area –
Italy is divided into 20 regions, which are sub-divided into more than hundred provinces. Basically each region produces local wine of its own. Among them of which the north-west Piemonte region and the central Toscana region, these two regions are the most well know on wine making in the world.

~ Piemonte Region (Piedmont): Barolo & Barbaresco these two winery areas are most famous. For former one, it is granted name of “King of Italian wine’ under the comments of some wine tasters (but actually this is because of 19th century, this wine was served to the Piemonte’s nobles, who became the King of Kingdom of Italy since 1861). And for latter one that got the title of ‘Queen of Italian wine.  Although wine tasting is a very depended on personal taste, but anyhow, the grapes wine that produced in these two regions are highly praised by most wine tasters indeed.

~ Toscana Region (Tuscany): The most well known winery areas are situated in between 3 areas: Chainti, Montalcino & Montepuciano. Within this area is the typical massif area zone in the central of Toscana. Taking into account the adequate sunshine & rain falls over there, they are very suitable for the growing of grapes, no wonder the production quantity of fine grapes is the most in Italy.

~ Other regions: Lets share with you the grapes wines of other regions when have chance the next time, and just want to conclude in one sentence ‘every grape wine in Italy has its own style, they are fantastic of its own individually.

– The grading of Italian wines –
Indicazione Geografica Tipica (IGT): Wines that produced in specific region but not meeting to the official requests (such as type of grapes, aging methods). Wine maker can adopt method of wine making not according to standard. But among them one can find out fine wines as well, just like the wine “Super Tuscans”.

Denominazione di Origine Controllata (DOC): Production take place in specific region, also grapes wine meeting to official making standard.  They will grant with DOC approval.

Denominazione di Origine Controllata e Garantita (DOCG): The highest grading in Italy, same as DOC that needs to take production in specific region, & meeting to official standard.  The main difference is that ‘Guarantee’ is issued by the Government under strict control on quality and quantity.

*** The grading of IGT/ DOC/ DOCG is not 100% related with the QUALITY. They are the formation and limitation of making a kind of wine. Some of the wine markers are not following the traditional rules, but using their own creative to produce very good quality wines. This is so-called “SUPER TUSCANS” wines in Tuscany region. As those wines cannot fulfill the restrictions of Italian government, that’s why most of them are grading in IGT.

Vino Conte here to bring various types of “SUPER TUSCANS”  from Montecchio:
Priscus IGT
– Viola Scuro IGT
– Pietracupa IGT Rosso Toscana
– La Papessa IGT Rosso Toscana